Be dynamite, Live dynamically!

After fuzzcare, I bribed the dogs with peanut butter inside a bone. 

Sitting on a pillow at the edge of my coffee table again, I did a little stretching in the minute prep I set the timer for.  When the bell rang for stillness, I found it challenging to focus on my breath because my chest felt tight again.   When I asked Andrew-san why my chest felt tight when I started to focus on my breath, he pointed out the obvious – that I was just noticing what was already there.

I have been fighting away a cold the past few days, and had used my asthma pump after awakening because my chest had started to feel like congestion was settling in.  I don’t have asthma, per se, but I had an annual bout of bronchitis as a kid (thanks, smoking parents) and I am technically allergic to cats, which only flares up from time to time as a cat owner.  Before owning cats, I would also get exercise induced wheezing.   I don’t always now, but the combo can’t help things.   So, my chest is tight, and I watch it… (fyi, not asthma attack tight – not emergent!)

I still feel other parts of my body start to relax, I notice my mind still wanders but the thoughts aren’t as loud, aren’t screaming for attention.   Perhaps it is because my chest is yelling at me for the irritants I challenged it to adapt to. 

My posture wants to wobble, too.  Sitting further upright helps open my chest, but it feels tiring to do so today.  I contemplate that a sun salutation before meditating would really be a good idea.  I try to focus on my breath.

The puppy monster finishes his task earlier than intended and starts seeking my attention.   I keep hoping he will follow my example and sit too.  🙂   He jumps on my leg, jumps on the table, tries to give me his toy..

image

(Taken after session over)

At some point I move my foot to trap the toy.  Sometimes all I need to do to “play” is a passive pseudo tug like that…but he gets another toy.

When I moved my foot it was a shock to my system though,  a rude awakening, and I probably shouldn’t do that again, though I continued to sit until my time was up.

Obviously the puppy won.

Can’t wait to try to mix in kids and meditation someday.   🙂

Leave a Reply

